Honorary Doctorates Awarded by the Department


RWTH Aachen University awards Academic degree and laureateship of an honorary doctor for those, in a discipline of the respective faculty or in a neighboring discipline, who have achieved outstanding research or inventive achievement.

  Award ceremony Copyright: © Martin Lux, RWTH Aachen RWTH Rector Ernst Schmachtenberg (right), Prof. John Mylopoulos (mid), Prof. Wolfgang Thomas (left)

These extraordinary achievements can have been completed outside of a university or within a research institution. This distinction is likewise aimed at self-educated persons with outstanding achievements.

Title Name Location Date of Award
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. h. c. Ph.D. John Mylopoulos Toronto, ON, Canada December 1, 2011
Prof. Dr. Dr. rer. nat. h. c. Jan van Leeuwen Utrecht July 3, 2008
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. rer. nat. h. c. Reinhard Wilhelm Saarbrücken July 3, 2008