Funding Programs for Junior Research Groups


Funding programs for junior research groups are typically targeted at outstanding postdocs with research experience whose doctorate has been completed a few years ago. As a rule, funding is provided for an entire group of junior researchers, including for project resources, for a period of five years. The program seeks to enable young scholars to conduct independent research early on in their careers.


The present web page provides an overview of selected externally funded junior research groups at RWTH Aachen.

Title Applicant Funding Period
Emmy Noether Program (DFG)
Methods and Tools for the Analysis and Interpretation of Experiments to Prove the Existence of Dark Matter Dr. Felix Kahlhoefer since 2017
Transfer Influence with Air Jet Vortex Generator Arrays in Transsonic and Supersonic Currents Dr.-Ing. Anne Marie Schreyer since 2017
Searching for a New Particle Physics Theory by Studying Rare Cases of Beta Decay Dr. Christoph Langenbruch since 2016

Development of Heteropolyvanadate Spin Clusters as Candidates for Future Redox-Based Memory Devices

Dr. Kirill Monakhov since 2015
Top-down (State dependent) Modulation of Sensory Processing in the Mouse Olfactory Bulb Dr. Markus Rothermel since 2013
STARTUP – Sustainable Aromatics Using Pseudomonas Dr. Nick Wierckx since 2013
Soft Group 13/15 Organic-Inorganic Hybrid Materials Dr. Holger Helten since 2013
Title Applicant Funding Period
Returning Scholars Program (MIWF)
Targeting Perivascular Myofibroblast Progenitors to Treat Fibrotic Disease Professor Rafael Kramann since 2016

Title Applicant Funding Period
Junior Research Groups in the Field of "Digital Society" (NRW Ministry of Culture and Science)
Digital Maturity Dr. André Calero Valdez since 2018

Title Applicant Funding Period
Competition "Interdisciplinary Development of Competencies“ – Human-Technology Interactionfor for Demographic Change (Federal Ministry of Education and Research)
Age and Aging-Appropriate Human-Technology Interaction with the Help of Tele-medical Systems and Services (TECH4AGE) Dr. Dr. Alexander Mertens since 2015
Title Applicant Funding Period
Freigeist-Fellowship (Volkswagen Foundation)
A German Nuclear Archaeology Laboratory: Reconstructing the Nuclear Past to Enable a Nuclear-weapon-free Future Dr. Malte Göttsche since 2017
Stable and Robust Management of
Health Care Services
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Christina Büsing since 2016
Title Applicant Funding Period
NanoMatFutur Early-Stage Researcher Competition (BMBF)

Atom Probe – Optimization of the Degree of Effectiveness of Solar Cells Based on 3-D Chemical Analyses on the Atomic Scale

Dr. Oana Cojocaru-Mirédin since 2013

Title Applicant Funding Period
Independent Research Groups in the Neurosciences (BMBF)

Metabolic Imaging for Neurodegenerative Diseases

Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Kathrin Reetz since 2014